GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Nokia > Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L )


Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) Nokia Legacy Models Like 1011, 1610, 211x, 2x20, 6050, 3110, 8110, NKxxx , 2100, 3210, 3310, 3330, 3410, 5110, 5210, 5510, 6110, 6150, 6210, 6250, 7110, 8210, 8250, 8850 also 9110 & 9210

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2002, 08:38   #1 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 61
Member: 8505
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Post Checksum calculation?


Hi!

Can anybody tell me how the checksums are calculated?

If MCU or PPM is changed, but the checksums are the same does the phone still need logging for FAID?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2002, 09:16   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 625
Member: 4690
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
Post

I was just told you can "reflash" the same mcu and ppm (HAS TO BE THE SAME LANG. PACK!) and you don't need to recalc.. I done it today!<br />Didn't fix my problem tho <img src="frown.gif" border="0">
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2002, 09:24   #3 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 519
Member: 8249
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2
Post

The checksums WONT be the same if you change mcu or ppm thought, thats the problem.

The FAID is calculated FROM the checksums and MSID I think.

Nick
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2002, 07:47   #4 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 61
Member: 8505
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Post

The bytes can be modified and the checksums can still be the same. For example if you calculate the checksum by adding the bytes and discarding the carry then if you have 13 54 21 it will give the same checksum as 15 53 20. So in theory you can modify the MCU or PPM and then fix a word somwhere where is not needed and adjust the checksums to be the same.

So if the checksums are adjusted in this way will the phone work without logging?

What exactly is the MSID? Is it calculated from smth? Where from?

Mircea

P.S. Sorry for the double posting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2002, 08:13   #5 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bacolod, Philippines
Posts: 313
Member: 3360
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 4
Post

Bear in mind that the phone itself also checks the word (2-bytes) every 20h of the flash.

You are right that the checksums of 13 54 21 and 15 53 20 are the same but let's say "13 54" happens to be in one of every 20h of the flash.

So the changed "15 23" would cause a no network and phone resetting if not for the ever famous "Contact Service".
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2002, 14:33   #6 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 61
Member: 8505
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Post

So the idea is to keep the checksums the same and also the n*20h,n*21h bytes the same in order to avoid logging, or is it enough just to keep the 20h,21h bytes the same?

Where is this 20-21 checksum calculated? In hardware?

Isn't this checksum also additive? What will happen if this 20-21 checksum is also adjusted like I said before? Will the phone still need logging? Is anyone brave enough to try? I don't have flasher cable yet, otherwise I would try it myself.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 10:28   #7 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 221
Member: 8219
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Post

give me more info and I will try... mail me
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 13:06   #8 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Romania
Posts: 61
Member: 8505
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Thumbs up

Mail sent
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checksum calculation? ldril Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 0 01-14-2002 08:14
nokia checksum calculator on the gsmactua.net site dgtulga Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 0 09-27-2001 17:33
Checksum calculator BillyJoe Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 0 09-13-2001 20:47
Alcatel communication - checksum calculation emsi Alcatel & TCL Old Models 7 07-12-2001 15:40
checksum calculation? pilcris Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 0 12-06-2000 10:16

 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:39.



Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.27035 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO