GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Nokia > Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L )

Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) Nokia Legacy Models Like 1011, 1610, 211x, 2x20, 6050, 3110, 8110, NKxxx , 2100, 3210, 3310, 3330, 3410, 5110, 5210, 5510, 6110, 6150, 6210, 6250, 7110, 8210, 8250, 8850 also 9110 & 9210

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2002, 02:41   #1 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Age: 40
Posts: 410
Member: 7327
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 12
( recieved tone ) formate


hello m8s

anyone have got out the recived tones formate so we can add as much as we need from it & then fill by logo manager ?

i think this is cool idea for all .

kind regards .
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 05:32   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Egypt
Age: 41
Posts: 1,517
Member: 4263
Status: Offline
Sonork: 100.1582330
Thanks Meter: 48
what do u mean ?

we may help other in that if u mean what i think
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 05:38   #3 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Bristol - UK
Posts: 286
Member: 1034
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
@MAK_US1977

I think what he means is if the received ringtone format can be worked out, adding ringtones to a custom ppm with logomanager would be quite easy. I think that's where he's getting at....
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 14:10   #4 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Dave.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Age: 36
Posts: 2,823
Member: 7653
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 814
hi, the tones in PPM and tones in the eeprom (composer) are in different formats. havent really tryed to work out the eeprom one yet as the ppm is keeping me busy but i did try inserting it into a ppm file and it didnt work.
my very first thought was to use composer to convert tones to hex
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 14:28   #5 (permalink)
Product Supporter
 
trashed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philippines
Posts: 512
Member: 8303
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 127
yes you can add your downloaded tones to your PPM. ive done it in my phone. its very tricky but its worth it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 15:44   #6 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Age: 40
Posts: 410
Member: 7327
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 12
hello m8s

@ trashed

how ?

kind regards .
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 17:46   #7 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Egypt
Age: 41
Posts: 1,517
Member: 4263
Status: Offline
Sonork: 100.1582330
Thanks Meter: 48
no my friend thet stored in eprom and ppm in the same format
i got one from eprom and swaped it with one of builtin tones

that is my new project
but my problem is how to convert midi to that format

if anyone can help
i will be thankfull
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 18:35   #8 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 48
Member: 4692
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Gnokii binary format

Hi,
GNOKII use similar binary format as in flash. Maybe programer of this SW can help. SW which can save ringtones to phone use algorithm for conversion. Reverse engeneering in this case is second option.
What do You mean.

Take care

Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 18:43   #9 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Finn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chalkidiki/Greece
Posts: 487
Member: 7731
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 27
Eeprom format is the same as flash format.I ve successfully insert one eeprom tone to PPM
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2002, 17:29   #10 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: I.C., R.P.
Posts: 185
Member: 3165
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by Finn
Eeprom format is the same as flash format.I ve successfully insert one eeprom tone to PPM
EEPROM on what phone? It always seems encypted on a 33XX, or am i just missing something!


regards,

aCe
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2002, 18:31   #11 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Finn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chalkidiki/Greece
Posts: 487
Member: 7731
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 27
6210,6250,7110
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 05:35   #12 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
X-Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: GSM Forum
Posts: 1,108
Member: 871
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 601
Hello,

It is easy to change SMS Alert tones on some DCT3 phones like
5110s, 6150... but almost impossible for other DCT3 phones like
8850-5.30, 8210-5.30, etc...

Why? Because of MCU security. The SMS Alert tones are stored
in the MCU for some DCT3 phones unlike the Rongtones which
are stored in the PPM for ALL nokia.

For 51xx, 61xx it is still in the MCU, but you can change it
easily provided that you must make sure that the checksum
remains the same!

For example:
6130-5.61

Use HEX Editor and search for string "8005020A01"
(Thanks to ICEDRAGON for initial findings )

Now you see Message Alert to for "Special" below:

1 - 5A0C 400C
2 - 5A0C 400C 0AFE
3 - 5A0C 4025 0A01
4 - 5A25 400C
5 - 5A25 4025 0AFE
6 - 5A0C 400C
7 - 5A0C 400C
8 - 5A0C 0A7F

407D 060B C000 02FD 0A

The actual Alert Tones are the first 8 lines above... the last line
is not included in the tone generation... I think it is only used for
how the tone will sound and whether or not is will repeat itself.

5A0C ---> 5A is the Tone, 0C is the Length....
400C ---> 40 is a pause, 0C is the Length....
0AFE ---> I think this is a VIBRA call, although I am not sure
0A01 ---> Another Vibra call?
0A7F ---> Yet still another Vibra call?



But I guess you are not really interested to know what they really
mean, but CAN WE CHANGE THEM??? Off course here are a
few sample below:


Who Let the Dogs Out?
1 - 5A2A 400C
2 - 5A0C 400C 0AFE
3 - 5A0C 400C 0A01
4 - 5A2A 400C
5 - 5A2A 4025 0AFE
6 - 0A4D 400C
7 - 0A5C 400C
8 - 0A5C 0A7F


Notice that I managed to keep the checksum the same by adding
the same number of bytes subtracted to another byte.

A good IDEA would be to manipulate the code above to generate
other MORSE CODE letters (Because all nokia tones are Morse
codes if you haven't noticed that

Standard Tone --> Morse Code "M M"
Special Tone --> Morse Code "S M S"
Ascending Tone --> Morse Code "Connecting People"
Beep Once --> Morse Code "I Love GSMCITY Forum"


Ok, for lesson number two, try to create morse code letters like
the example below:

Morse Code 'F'
5A0C 400C
5A0C 400C 0AFE
5A25 400C 0A01
5A0C 400C
0A5C 4075 0AFE
0A25 405C
0A25 400C
0A5C 0A7F

By the way, you do not need to recalculte FAID when updating
ALert tones on supported phones. Just think of it as if you are
unlocking your phone via partial Flashing method.

Here is an example on how to keep the Checksums the same...

If you want a longer tone duration, you must make 5A length
longer... for example 5A0C ----> 5A5C! This is a longer tone,
but notice that we added 50 to 0C to make it 5C... Now you have
to remove 50 from somewhere so you will not alter the
checksums! For exmample, remove 50 from 405C, you will
result to 400C! Now checksum is not altered.

I guess in newer MCUs, they implement better CRC because you
can not change alert tones even if you do not change checksums!
That is why, single PARTIAL unlocking also does not work!

Good Luck!

Please dont ask me If you can make Ringtones into alert tones
because I did not try this yet

Best Regards,
X-Shadow
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 09:45   #13 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 325
Member: 5355
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 5
hello x-shadow,

i think its possible. i mean changing the sms tone of on 8210 v5.30.. and still have network...

but on 3310v5.03. i still get no network.. 8(

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2002, 15:57   #14 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Dave.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: England
Age: 36
Posts: 2,823
Member: 7653
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 814
not too sure on this one.
i updated the tone on a 5130 to the "who let the dogs out" (hehe, nice idea) and got contact service. run wintesla and PPM checksum failed! even though the changes had been in MCU recalculated checksums then FAiD with TEK and its working now
also, after this, i edited the alert again, this time changing the values of the notes. its the same rhythm but starts on a C and goes up to a G (nice little song), without any add/subtract. just recalculate PPM with ppmsplitter/fixer, then MCU checksum only with nFree and all is well
think maybe the old 5130 is now good enough to be seen in public with again
heres the nice alert:
7F2A400C810C400C0AFE8321400C0A01842A400C862A40250A FE0A4D400C0A5C400C0A5C0A7F

Last edited by Dave.W; 03-15-2002 at 16:00.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2002, 15:06   #15 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: I.C., R.P.
Posts: 185
Member: 3165
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Quote:
Originally posted by Finn
6210,6250,7110
so how do i know which are the starting bytes and the ending bytes?

at least the alert tones have a default hex header to look for and that ppm tones have 070BXXXX as end bytes.



as for the alert tones addition subtraction, yes it will work unless you change the value of every 20th hex value (info courtesy of ice).
but tek did manage to break the spell. unfortunately, 33 5.XX and the rest of the MCU protected flash versions somewhat eludes as all.

regards,
aCe
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
samsung e-630 no tones and voice recieve Abelardz23 Samsung Hardware Repair 1 11-11-2006 20:41
3510 recieved tones, how to make louder? reo Nokia Digital Core Technology 4 ( DCT-4 ) 3 11-08-2002 01:15
special effect ring tone in re format ccwong Nokia Multimedia 1 06-15-2002 07:29
special effect ring tone in re format ccwong Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 1 06-15-2002 07:28

 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15.



Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.41667 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO