GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Nokia > Nokia Hardware & Hardware Repair

Nokia Hardware & Hardware Repair all what you need for Hardware Repairing for Nokia Phones. Before writing any thread here try to check the Frequently Asked Questions Section.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2004, 14:39   #1 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 40
Posts: 42
Member: 59662
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
Netmonitor and gsm channel


I need to know if with netmonitor i can check which channel of the cell is the phone connected to or more specifically which is the RF frequency it's getting its signal from (900 or 1800Mhz), with a 6210 or 3210.
It's for a experiment for Electromagnetism class
If yes, which page and parameter of netmonitor should i check?

Tkx
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 16:35   #2 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: RO
Posts: 479
Member: 5992
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
You have here link for netmonitor manual.
http://www.phones-direct.ro/public/nmmanual.pdf
http://www.phones-direct.ro/public/gsmus.chm

on page 01 you have channel-rx-tx power... or page 09 cell-channell.
there is an formula to calc channell to frq....
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 03:28   #3 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 40
Posts: 42
Member: 59662
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
Tkx Guciano!!
Still need help though.
Which command should i execute to save a value to pos number 33 of the sim card to do the bts test, as it is described below and on the netmonitor manual under the test 17 menu ?


"save (change) desired channel number on position number 33 of the SIM card's phone book in decimal format (not in phone's memory!) - if you save '0' there, this test will be inactive! However, this step is not necessary, if this number was stored there earlier - you can check this with 33# code). Remember, that phone checks used format. Here are some examples of correct entries: "1", "700". "
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 06:44   #4 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: RO
Posts: 479
Member: 5992
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
you have to use an sw or phone that know to save/read to an specific sim location...( if you don't have such sw just erase all SIM nr and save one by one 32 nr, next one will be saved on location 33)

Normally you don't have to use BTS test for wat you need in you'r experiment until you want to force the phone to use an specific channel ( for this you have to know allso if that channel is used in you'r location - I don't think you will get this info from net op). If is not used you will have no network...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 09:58   #5 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 40
Posts: 42
Member: 59662
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
No , i don't really need to do the bts test i just wanted to know if the phone is picking up a 900Mhz or a 1800Mhz signal. From menu 1 i can see that i'm connect to channel 48 right now, it hops sometimes (probably to match the best signal ), but can't draw any conclusion as which gsm band is the phone really using and that is what i really wanted to know, but i can't see any other test that will tell me that
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 11:33   #6 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: RO
Posts: 479
Member: 5992
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
GSM 900 Mhz channels are from 1 to 128
GSM 1800 Mhz channels are from 512 to 885

you are on 900 Mhz band
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 20:38   #7 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 40
Posts: 42
Member: 59662
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
Tkx a bunch for all Guciano !!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 20:52   #8 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: RO
Posts: 479
Member: 5992
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
And here is formula for calc TX freq:
Lower band frequency + 0.2 MHz (channel spacing) x n (channel number).
Thus, for GSM 900, for example:
f = 935 MHz + 0.2 MHz x n

you'r welcome
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to sniff gsm channel usernome Sim Cloning and Scaning 15 07-28-2010 10:18
Changing PRIMARY AND SECONDARY CHANNEL LG 2030 kalpakshah Various CDMA/TDMA Cell Phones 2 11-02-2005 05:27
GSM channel vs frequency chart Orange_Dominica Hardware Equipments for GSM 1 06-16-2005 17:01
T39 GPRS UPLOAD AND DOWNLOAD CHANNELS? NUGSM Old Ericsson Phones & Sony Phones 1 08-30-2001 23:39
UK/US gsm channels. Just read gsm peopleSSSSS jj008 Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 3 06-29-2001 14:18

 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:00.



Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.32000 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO