GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > Product Support Sections > Hard/Software Products (official support) > Infinity-Box


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2017, 11:01   #1 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Vodafone VDF 200 network re-locked after sotware update


Hi

I have unlocked few Vodafone VDF-200 using SPD module and it worked fine after unlock. Customers are bring the phones back because the phone has been re-locked to vodafone again after the automatic sotware update. Why is this happening?

Here is the log of the phone which I had to unlock agian after software update.

Thanks

Card found: S/N : 0123****** , v0136
Chinese Miracle II [SPD module] v 1.26

Set mode to : SP [SC773x] eMMC [Android 5.x]

Operation : SP Unlock [ v1.26 ]
Mode : DirectUnlock

1. Remove battery. Insert battery back
2. Press and hold 'VolumeUp' and 'VolumeDown' keys
3. Insert cable

==== Wait for phone...

Phone found! [ 17 ]
Port Opened
Sync...
InitBoot Done [ 0x81 ] , Ver : SPRD3
Sync...
Sending FDL
[Info] : If SW freeze here more, than 15 seconds - remove cable
FDL Ready!
Boot Ver : SC773x Android 5.x eMMC v1.0 Inf
Sending FLASH FDL
FLASH FDL Ready!
Boot Ok!

Detected eMMC Flash , Structure detect Ok!

Checking Structure ...
SimLock state : Locked!
Unlocking ...
Unlock Done!

Elapsed: 00:00:32

Reconnect Power/Cable!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:13   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
JayDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,246
Member: 462970
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 16,057
Hello.
SPD OTA, if that tuned up, update NVM also, I had seen few examples for different vendors, uses SPD, where package contain calibrations and security items data.
It is Ok. SPD not contain any permanent flags ( probably, it check some "factory code" unlock flag, which are transfer during update, but it specified to vendors )

Possible patch FW, but it can be fixed, if vendor find that fact as well. So, unlock again as variant is better, than long workarounds. Possible try find more accurate way ( i.e. code generation and etc. ) But need samples on hands and time for every model. With samples all is hard.

Nowdays much vendors release just only security patches for old devices. Good reason to "fix" possible unlocks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:40   #3 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Thanks for the reply.

Yes its easy to unlock agian but this means the cutomser is dis-satisfied. These phones are my own new phones which I have unlock for re-sale. Its not good sales practice to tell the cutomer not to update software. Also the update does not give option to cancell according to last cutomer. He said he cancelled the OT update but phone still updated. I have also unlocked using codes but that also came back locked after update.

There must be a permanent fix?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 12:59   #4 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
JayDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,246
Member: 462970
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 16,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by msa View Post
Thanks for the reply.

Yes its easy to unlock agian but this means the cutomser is dis-satisfied. These phones are my own new phones which I have unlock for re-sale. Its not good sales practice to tell the cutomer not to update software. Also the update does not give option to cancell according to last cutomer. He said he cancelled the OT update but phone still updated. I have also unlocked using codes but that also came back locked after update.

There must be a permanent fix?

Thanks
Aha, you just confirmed about there is no any stored FACTORY_CODE flag, that mean device will relock after every update.

Permanent fix - custom rom with disabled ota only in that case.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 18:55   #5 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Any input from Infinity support please?

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 19:51   #6 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
JayDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,246
Member: 462970
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 16,057
So, answer from CM2 author not enough?
  Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JayDi For This Useful Post:
Old 07-01-2017, 08:45   #7 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayDi View Post
So, answer from CM2 author not enough?
Sincere applogies master More than good enough, did not realise your status.

br
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 09:23   #8 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Hi agian,

Any chance of directing me to flash file VDF-VFD200B01-UK_MR02a , this the version after update. Before update it was VFD200B01-UK03e. I have about 50 pieces I need to update, its going to take a long time via OTA.

Or Can I copy the downloaded OTA file from phone so that I can update the phones from memory card? any idea where the downloaded update file is stored on the Phone?

Thanks
msa
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 10:21   #9 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Its ok Uncle Google found it here - Service and support -

Just hope no more updates.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 11:03   #10 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
JayDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,246
Member: 462970
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 16,057
You can just read FW with SPD module and after flash it to new phones.
Unlock them after and use. By default CM2 not touch nvm ares, until you not enable it ( update nvm ). If devices has been unlocked already - unlock again will not be required.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JayDi For This Useful Post:
Old 07-01-2017, 11:37   #11 (permalink)
msa
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 826
Member: 17424
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 13
Thank you , will do, it will save me some time.
br
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:53.



Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.29333 seconds with 7 queries

SEO by vBSEO