GSM Shop  
GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > iPhone ,iPod & iPad (Apple Inc. Products) > iPhone, iPad, iPod Hardware Repair

iPhone, iPad, iPod Hardware Repair Hardware Repair discussions for iPhone, iPod , iPad & Apple Products, help, guides.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 16:12   #1 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
error 3194 / 1013 and host file change doesn't help


Hi guys,
I have read in multiple threads/forums that altering the host file to remove the apple gps lines fixes these errors but on multiple occasions I have been unable to get past them.

For example, I am trying to downgrade 4.3.5 to 4.3.4 on iphone 4.
Everytime i get the error 3194.
So Ialter my host files as recommended.
I check all my Tiny umbrella versions to make sure the connect to cydia is unticked.

What am i doing wrong? It doesn't seem to matter what i do with the host file, it still comes up with error 3194 or 1013.
I also disabled all firewalls and antivirus
Can someone give me a clue as to why it seems to work for some people but just will noty work for me?
Do i have to reboot everytime i change the host file?
What else can i try?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 16:19   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Member: 1159072
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
I have same problem ((
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 17:07   #3 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 62
Member: 1515083
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2
The obvious question is do you have the SHSH blobs for 4.3.4 for that phone ? I think you need to have Tiny Umbrella running and make sure the TS Server is running. I can't get it running on my pc because something is hogging port 80...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 17:15   #4 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
HI,
I don't have the blobs for it but it doesn't seem to matter. even if i try to upgrade to 4.3.5 i still have issues with error codes, 3194 and 1013. I should add i have tried various iphones and seem to be having this problem a lot so i think it must be something to do with the PC setup.
Regarding blobs, Can i not just save the blobs from another iphone 4 and use them? Sorry, not sure exactly what blobs are.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 19:10   #5 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 62
Member: 1515083
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2
No, the blobs are phone specific. You MUST have the blobs for THAT phone for a given firmware to be able to restore to it.

If you close Tiny Umbrella and find your "Hosts" file simply put a number sign in front of the one that says "gs.apple". That was put there by Tiny Umbrella (likely) and you need to make sure you are not using it if trying to do an official restore. I don't remember the path to that file just google it and once you modify it make sure you save it then open iTunes and try again. You should NOT get the 3194 error at that point.

Apple is still signing the 4.1 firmware so you could also restore to that if you download it. Better still make a custom firmware to avoid the 1015 error.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 20:18   #6 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 350
Member: 1198842
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobson View Post
HI,
I don't have the blobs for it but it doesn't seem to matter. even if i try to upgrade to 4.3.5 i still have issues with error codes, 3194 and 1013. I should add i have tried various iphones and seem to be having this problem a lot so i think it must be something to do with the PC setup.
Regarding blobs, Can i not just save the blobs from another iphone 4 and use them? Sorry, not sure exactly what blobs are.
FIRST : Forget to downgrade less than 4.3.5 if there no shsh saved.

SECOND: your hosts just be sure you have 127.0.0.0 local.... on it
All other listed in hosts put # before then,, ur itunes will comunicated clean to apple server. be sure need to restart pc after change.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 20:37   #7 (permalink)
Insane Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 62
Member: 1515083
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2
Oops sorry my reference to Apple signing 4.1 was only in reference to 3GS and does not apply to you.

frake isn't local usually 127.0.0.1 ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 21:47   #8 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
OK so.
I have the downloaded 4.3.5 firmware from Apple
I have cleaned my host file so it is as below:

# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost
#74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com
#74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com


I have restarted the PC
I have installed itunes 10.4
I have no firewall or AV running
The phone is in restore mode (will try DFU now)
Firmware installs and then verifies but then fails with error 1013 and I'm back at restore and connect to itunes again?

Any ideas what's going on?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 21:55   #9 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Wites OM Tesla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Moldova,Chisinau.
Age: 32
Posts: 3,466
Member: 1017374
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2,544
What about this?
Error 1013
iPhone 4
This means that the baseband did not get updated. Either remove the gs.apple.com entry from your hosts file and let the baseband upgrade or if you want to preserve the baseband just jailbreak at this point to boot it up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 21:58   #10 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
Wites, The host file is absolutely clean, see above, but still won't restore.

Tried DFU as well, same thing, sigh

I am assuming that 4.3.5 installed as requested but like you say the baseband failed so i shall now
try and jailbreak using
redsn0w_win_0.9.8b4 and pointing at 4.3.4 as instructed.

I'll be back!

Last edited by Hobson; 09-13-2011 at 22:06.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 22:28   #11 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
Jailbreak hung at installing Bundles
2nd attempt is now stuck on apple, thought i had it then!
OK, 3rd attempt , just boot tethered and success.!! well done everyone.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 22:52   #12 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Wites OM Tesla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Moldova,Chisinau.
Age: 32
Posts: 3,466
Member: 1017374
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobson View Post
Jailbreak hung at installing Bundles
2nd attempt is now stuck on apple, thought i had it then!
OK, 3rd attempt , just boot tethered and success.!! well done everyone.
Thanks
Good work great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 08:38   #13 (permalink)
Freak Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Galway, Ireland
Posts: 276
Member: 1508411
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 36
OH dear,
Just looked at this closer and there is no WiFi, IMEI, network, mac address. etc.

Tried restore to stock 4.3.5 = error 3194
here we go again, so I assuming now that the issue is hardware and is probably a bad BB chip? Anything else i can check hardware wise?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 10:08   #14 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Wites OM Tesla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Moldova,Chisinau.
Age: 32
Posts: 3,466
Member: 1017374
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 2,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobson View Post
OH dear,
Just looked at this closer and there is no WiFi, IMEI, network, mac address. etc.

Tried restore to stock 4.3.5 = error 3194
here we go again, so I assuming now that the issue is hardware and is probably a bad BB chip? Anything else i can check hardware wise?
This problem is the battery or pins of battery.Try other battery.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 10:57   #15 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 860
Member: 534073
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 67
same problem iphone4 4.3[ 8f190]base band 04.10.01.......
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! BACKGROUND SCREEN LOGO Michael Go Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 8 11-23-2017 08:11
IR between 6150 and IBM TP 600 favdijck Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 3 11-15-2011 13:08
Eeprom dump lost, help needed. CAMILO Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 6 11-29-2010 19:04
Help with 6110 paulomt1 Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 2 05-25-2009 17:29
wt603 and .pkd ARt Nokia Legacy Phones ( DCT-1 ,2 ,3 ,L ) 0 06-13-1999 20:18

 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:18.



Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.53404 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO