GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > Other Gsm/Mobile Related Forums > GSM Programming & Reverse Engineering

GSM Programming & Reverse Engineering Here you can post all Kind of GSM Programming and Reverse Engineering tools and Secrets.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2003, 12:56   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Livorno (Italy)
Age: 38
Posts: 8
Member: 19878
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Angry at+ commands taking too much time.


Hallo.
I'm developing an application that connects to a nokia phone using data cable, issuing AT+ commands (e.g. at+csq, at+creg, etc).
My problem is the time one command take: "AT".

I use the "AT" command to "check if the phone is alive": once in a while (every 30 seconds approx.) I send the command AT (whose answer should be OK) to the phone. If I don't find any "OK" in my serial port's input buffer then I state that the cellular is not present. Else, if I receive "OK" on the serial port, the cellular is present.

I have put a little tweaking thing in the function I used to check the presence of the cellular that prints out the time the function needed to check the presence of the cellular.

When I start the program this value is 73/80 (1/1000 of a second).
The second time is 88/92, the third 105/107, and so on.
After an hour or two, this value grows up to a second.

An important thing to note is that other commands (like at+csq or at+cbc) spend always the same amount of time during the execution of my program (plus/minus 20 milliseconds, of course). The only command that takes always more amount of time to complete is "AT".

I'm using this nokia phone model:

at+cgmi
Nokia Mobile Phones

OK
at+cgmm
NSE-5

OK

formerly known as Nokia 7110, I think.

please help me
Fontani Marco - [email protected]
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 10:29   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Invisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: รำมว&#
Posts: 2,461
Member: 3956
Status: Offline
Sonork: galletto3 rules :D
Thanks Meter: 55
re

hi,

unless I donīt know exactly your appz why donīt you use nokia protocol instread of send at comands
that should fix your problems relating speed,

best regards
Invisible
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 10:35   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Livorno (Italy)
Age: 38
Posts: 8
Member: 19878
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Quote:
unless I donīt know exactly your appz why donīt you use nokia protocol instread of send at comands
For portability reasons.

Nokia protocol differs (although a little) from phone to phone.

AT+ commands are the same (although some of them are not "mandatory" so can also be not implemented) on every phone with a built-in modem.

Fontani Marco
[email protected]
+393288355236
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 01:17   #4 (permalink)
Major Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Holland
Posts: 45
Member: 161
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Hey!

I think you can better use the ATZ or ATI commands to detect the phone... Those are designed to check for response. While just "AT" is actually only a start of the command (I think)

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2003, 18:41   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Livorno (Italy)
Age: 38
Posts: 8
Member: 19878
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Quote:
I think you can better use the ATZ or ATI commands to detect the phone
Yay, but (if I remember well) the ATZ command is used to "reset phone settings", and it's not what I really want to check if the phone is present

I don't know about the "ATI" command, I'll check it.

Thanks, anyway, for the advice.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too Much Time For Code fida_hussain Gsmfather The Wholesale Unlocking Database 5 03-31-2008 19:03
Takes too much time to typ swoah x1x to x45/x50 0 11-16-2001 12:29

 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:42.



Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.23072 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO