GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > Product Support Sections > Hard/Software Products (official support) > xtc2cliP

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2015, 04:20   #1 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Trying to repair imei on htc first (mystul )


I received this phone to repair imei, but looks like some one was messing with its security or something because in bootloader screen it always say TAMPERED.

it was boot loader locked, s-on and don't remember the CID.

I setup the clip to do the job and after trying to s-off and repair imei I got this
(Except the bootloader, which I unlocked later)


And the imei number is much different from the one I set, the imei umber has a lot of zeroes.

Also, the os is not loading, it now has gone to a boot - loop after I unlocked the boot-loader.

I am afraid it will be hard to flash a stock RUU since the CID is not a super cid and not a CID at all. So, I think it will not accept any RUU.

Any help please?


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:21   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Trying to repair imei on htc first (mystul )

I received this phone to repair imei, but looks like some one was messing with its security or something because in bootloader screen it always say TAMPERED.

it was boot loader locked, s-on and don't remember the CID.

I setup the clip to do the job and after trying to s-off and repair imei I got this
(Except the bootloader, which I unlocked later)


And the imei number is much different from the one I set, the imei umber has a lot of zeroes.

Also, the os is not loading, it now has gone to a boot - loop after I unlocked the boot-loader.

I am afraid it will be hard to flash a stock RUU since the CID is not a super cid and not a CID at all. So, I think it will not accept any RUU.

Any help please?


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:23   #3 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Trying to repair imei on htc first (mystul )

I received this phone to repair imei, but looks like some one was messing with its security or something because in bootloader screen it always say TAMPERED.

it was boot loader locked, s-on and don't remember the CID.

I setup the clip to do the job and after trying to s-off and repair imei I got this
(Except the bootloader, which I unlocked later)


And the imei number is much different from the one I set, the imei umber has a lot of zeroes.

Also, the os is not loading, it now has gone to a boot - loop after I unlocked the boot-loader.

I am afraid it will be hard to flash a stock RUU since the CID is not a super cid and not a CID at all. So, I think it will not accept any RUU.

Any help please?


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:23   #4 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Trying to repair imei on htc first (mystul )

I received this phone to repair imei, but looks like some one was messing with its security or something because in bootloader screen it always say TAMPERED.

it was boot loader locked, s-on and don't remember the CID.

I setup the clip to do the job and after trying to s-off and repair imei I got this
(Except the bootloader, which I unlocked later)


And the imei number is much different from the one I set, the imei umber has a lot of zeroes.

Also, the os is not loading, it now has gone to a boot - loop after I unlocked the boot-loader.

I am afraid it will be hard to flash a stock RUU since the CID is not a super cid and not a CID at all. So, I think it will not accept any RUU.

Any help please?


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:27   #5 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Trying to repair imei on htc first (mystul )

I received this phone to repair imei, but looks like some one was messing with its security or something because in bootloader screen it always say TAMPERED.

it was boot loader locked, s-on and don't remember the CID.

I setup the clip to do the job and after trying to s-off and repair imei I got this
(Except the bootloader, which I unlocked later)


And the imei number is much different from the one I set, the imei umber has a lot of zeroes.

Also, the os is not loading, it now has gone to a boot - loop after I unlocked the boot-loader.

I am afraid it will be hard to flash a stock RUU since the CID is not a super cid and not a CID at all. So, I think it will not accept any RUU.

Any help please?


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 04:29   #6 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Delete threads

Please a mod delete my repeating threads, it was a connection problem in tapatalk which made me repeat the postings.

Sorry


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 19:03   #7 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Not even a reply or suggestion from anyone?

I now tried to write stock RUU, but could not succed, obviously because CID is not correct. I get this:


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 19:19   #8 (permalink)
Product Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,410
Member: 2416253
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 4,053
Check my reply in PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 20:21   #9 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Hi, I solved the issue, without repairing clip.

This is what I did. Since the phone is s-off I can run oem commands...

So, I repaired Cid by: fastboot oem writecid 11111111

Then repaired imei by: fastboot oem writeimei 15-digits-imei

Phone did not boot, so I tried: fastboot oem lock

Then phone started with both Cid and imei fixed.

I really don't Need to unlock bootloader since I will not write any custom rom or recovery to the phone, so I will keep it relocked.

About TAMPERED status, it is still there, as far as I know it would be removed only by writing ruu, but ruu is not willing to write this phone even after relocking bootloader, I don't know why.

About the clip not repairing the phone well, I think it has to do with the tampered status, I say this because there is an error when you run the comand: fastboot getvar all

The command returns some variables but not all, probably the software xtc or clip are having a bug processing this command and then fails to continue.

I tried to fix with irkey suite 5, and this software could not even read the phone in fastboot mode and after trying to read the phone got completely frozzen, the volume keys stopped working.

Just my 0.2 cents to the xtc developers.

Thanks again for this awesome tool.


uploadfromtaptalk1445883602326.jpg

Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 20:50   #10 (permalink)
Product Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,410
Member: 2416253
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 4,053
As I wrote you in PM - the "RESPONSE" CID is just a filesystem mess, we don't know why it happens sometimes, but filesystem repair helps to solve this problem.
As to TAMPERED, you are right - the firmware should update the tampered status on the first start, but it may not, I don't know all the reasons yet, try to master-reset the phone.

Thanks for your detailed description of the solution, anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2015, 00:52   #11 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtc2clip View Post
As I wrote you in PM - the "RESPONSE" CID is just a filesystem mess, we don't know why it happens sometimes, but filesystem repair helps to solve this problem.
As to TAMPERED, you are right - the firmware should update the tampered status on the first start, but it may not, I don't know all the reasons yet, try to master-reset the phone.

Thanks for your detailed description of the solution, anyway.
I still disagree, as I said on the villec2, I don't think it is a files stem issue in the clip, it just works ok with other phones.

Take a look at this

After this, the phone is stuck, I had to forcely shut it down, maybe something happens if the clip run the command or if the clip try to access a var inside the problematic area.


Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2015, 10:53   #12 (permalink)
Product Manager
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,410
Member: 2416253
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 4,053
Trust me - it's a filesystem problem. The phones are different, so the FAT handling is different on older firmwares aswell.

I didn't get the problem - you've read the phone info and it's stuck now?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2015, 03:06   #13 (permalink)
No Life Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santiago de Cuba
Posts: 3,187
Member: 220595
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtc2clip View Post
Trust me - it's a filesystem problem. The phones are different, so the FAT handling is different on older firmwares aswell.

I didn't get the problem - you've read the phone info and it's stuck now?
I haven't read the phone anymore, I returned it to customer as he was being a real pain in my rear, that log is old log, when I was working with phone and minutes before I fixed Cid and imei via fastboot commands

Enviado desde mi SM-N900T mediante Tapatalk
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16.



Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.42107 seconds with 8 queries

SEO by vBSEO