GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Alcatel > Alcatel TCL Phones and New Models

Alcatel TCL Phones and New Models OT, OH & E series, and all new TCL and Alcatel Models which are not listed in upper sections.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2021, 17:53   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Member: 472182
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
4GEE Wifi Rebranded Alacatel Linkzone Cat 12


Hi,

My kids have been using a 4GEE Wifi device in the UK on EE which appears to have had a firmware corruption during an update and it's only booting up to the driver for ADSU restore and not working.

The details are on the sticker are:

Model: 4GEE Wifi
Type: EE120-2AE8GB3
Made In China
04 012 HKB

I've messaged Alcatel Europe to see if they can fix but does anyone have access to the ADSU package for this device please?

There are no other obvious details on the package - I've tried connecting to the COM port it presents in Windows to see if it will give any more data but nothing yet.

I've tried pressing the reset button underneath the device while holding power but it hasn't done anything.

It seems to have some warranty type black stickers underneath so I haven't opened those yet to see if it has a UART port that would reveal why it won't boot while I wait to see if it needs service.

Thanks in advance for any help
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 19:13   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Member: 472182
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
I couldn't resist cracking it open and there are the following markings on the PCB if they help:

MW12-V0.4
BAB1M3000DC1

And on the other side:

SBA1M300001E
XWLE 02 B
I BKB 0098
D10
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 22:08   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Member: 472182
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
I managed to get into a root ADB Shell on the device, just doing some digging to try and work out what is wrong with it but seems the internal model number for these is MW120 in the firmware.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 14:31   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Member: 472182
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
OK got it, it was a corrupted UBIFS rootfs on mtd15.

Two ubifs volumes were on mtd15 (rootfs & usrfs) and the rootfs mapping to /system was corrupt.

I ran the following two commands to test pulling the data from ubi1_0 and then flashing it back.

cat /dev/ubi1_0 > backuptest
ubiupdatevol /dev/ubi1_0 backuptest

That reflashed the device - I've got a feeling it was turned off too quickly after an update which corrupted the ubifs.

It's now come up for the first time and has a hardcoded username and password so my next job is trying to crack those (it's more fun that just pressing the reset button )
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 20:42   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Brka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Serbia
Age: 45
Posts: 7,315
Member: 163
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 7,022
Very interesting research,

since there are no flash files (yet) on TCL factory support (or i can't find them)
for EE branded MW12x [PID: EE120-2*E8GB3]
(they call it "WIFI12" on suport)

i managed to get download image for MW12VK with unbranded dashboard,
if you wanna play with it, i can upload somewhere ...


b.r.
Alex
__________________
Always press THANKS button if my post was helpful!
Please DO NOT send me PM's for help, You can ask for help on forum
Do not post THANKS posts - use thanks button !
ALWAYS use SEARCH button before posting!
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brka For This Useful Post:
Old 08-21-2021, 19:33   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 43
Posts: 12
Member: 101153
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brka View Post
Very interesting research,

since there are no flash files (yet) on TCL factory support (or i can't find them)
for EE branded MW12x [PID: EE120-2*E8GB3]
(they call it "WIFI12" on suport)

i managed to get download image for MW12VK with unbranded dashboard,
if you wanna play with it, i can upload somewhere ...


b.r.
Alex
That would be great. The EE firmware like their EE firmware on Netgear M2 is shockingly bad on both devices.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 21:55   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Brka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Serbia
Age: 45
Posts: 7,315
Member: 163
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 7,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaniboy View Post
That would be great. The EE firmware like their EE firmware on Netgear M2 is shockingly bad on both devices.
Download

b.r.
Alex
__________________
Always press THANKS button if my post was helpful!
Please DO NOT send me PM's for help, You can ask for help on forum
Do not post THANKS posts - use thanks button !
ALWAYS use SEARCH button before posting!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 08:00   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Member: 472182
Status: Offline
Thanks Meter: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brka View Post
Very interesting research,

since there are no flash files (yet) on TCL factory support (or i can't find them)
for EE branded MW12x [PID: EE120-2*E8GB3]
(they call it "WIFI12" on suport)

i managed to get download image for MW12VK with unbranded dashboard,
if you wanna play with it, i can upload somewhere ...


b.r.
Alex
Thanks Alex I just saw your post!

I put some findings up on Github including changing the credentials once they had been changed - it's been a great device and I've used it quite a lot since fixing it. Well the kids have, and it's been great!

I can't actually post the link as don't have enough posts here yet but it's all up there - as you say the internal name it uses when doing software updates is MW120VB-2XE1000, I've got the URLs on Github too it checks etc.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:29.



Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
- GSM Hosting Ltd. - 1999-2017 -
Page generated in 0.16110 seconds with 7 queries

SEO by vBSEO