GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Chinese Models & Cloned Phones

Chinese Models & Cloned Phones All China Phone Platforms like (MTK, Spreadtrum.. etc.) Cloned Nokia Nokla & Motorola . etc. Phones are included

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2010, 04:57   #1 (permalink)

Member: 1288647
Thanks Meter: 0
Very Basic question about SIM cards and wifi

Hello all, I am very new to smartphones and ignorant on cell phones in general, so I’m sorry for what probably seems to be a stupid question/problem.

I have a Chinese Clone: Tianxing (Star) N97 Quad Band Dual SIM Dual Standby Touch Screen Slide Phone with TV/WIFI/JAVA

I DO NOT intend on using the phone function at all. So it has no SIM cards in it. I only wanted it for WIFI Opera, skype, and also MP3, Videos, etc.

I can connect to WIFI network OK. Shows good signal strength. But all my apps (Opera, nimbuzz, etc) say something like “Connection Failed” or “No Network”.

I have tried all the settings I can find. A web searching has not lead me to an answer; and, as expected, the manual is next to worthless.

Do I HAVE TO have a SIM card in it to use the WIFI ? Appreciate any advice.

Thanks!
Old 04-22-2010, 23:26   #2 (permalink)

Member: 1288771
Thanks Meter: 1