GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > GSM & CDMA Phones / Tablets Software & Hardware Area > Android based Phones / Tablets

Android based Phones / Tablets For all of your questions relating to the android mobile phones.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 19:40   #1 (permalink)

Member: 937826
Thanks Meter: 0
Question Debranding Optimus HTC Hero (PT)

Hi everyone.

I am an Android rookie, but i am trying to learn more and more each day.
I bought recently a HTC Hero from optimus operator (Portugal) - Orange - and it came with 1.5 version of the OS. There is original 2.1 version but not for my operator.
I already made an goldcard for it, removed simlock, and rooted (do i think is not ok because installed titanium backup pro and i try to have root acess - allow on SU - and i got an error from the app, saying it had not root acess) but now i would like to know step by step what to do?

what rom (original and generic) should i install to have 2.1?
How to do it, with goldcard inside cellphone?
It is possible to go back?
I have read in Q&A that some orange phones, whem the debranding is done, loose the network due to some radio network imcompabilities... how can i know if that is or is not my case?

First doubt, phone rooted or not (SU)?
with phone connected to pc, with adb....
"adb shell" ...
"su"
and a get the "#" sign instead of the "$". so i shoukd have the device rooted.