GSM Shop GSM Shop
GSM-Forum  

Welcome to the GSM-Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features.
Only registered members may post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 8 million posts.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please - Click to REGISTER!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us .

Go Back   GSM-Forum > Other Gsm/Mobile Related Forums > Sim Cloning and Scaning

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2004, 00:36   #1 (permalink)
Insane Poster

Member: 15755
Thanks Meter: 0
Two active numbers on one sim?

Hello forum,

I'm new to this aspect and no SP support it officially in my country, but for a long time phones have had support for something called ALS (alternate line services), which is some way of having two numbers on one card. In one phone (Siemens CL50) it is even possible to put different ringtones for line1 and line2 whereby I suspect both lines can actually be active for receiving calls at same time. (Then you choose which card to use for outgoing calls.)
A short description: http://www.nextel.com/services/digit...eservice.shtml

Has anyone of you tried ALS in practice? How does it work?
Nowadays I carry two phones around - bussiness and private.
It would be very handy if both numbers - active at same time -
could be in one phone and calls could just be destinguished by
the tone.

Now next question is of course if it is possible to combine two non-ALS
sim cards into one emulated-ALS sim card and how?

Thanks for ideas

Last edited by Kasper; 11-10-2004 at 00:52.
Old 11-10-2004, 01:34   #2 (permalink)
No Life Poster

Member: 66040
Thanks Meter: 14